Kamado Tomahawk Steak

POST NOW LIVES OVER AT MY NEW WEBSITE : WWW.KAMADOLIFE.COM

 

Well today started off with a visit to the guys down at the “Low and Slow Meat Co. ” Heard a lot of good things via facebook and decided to go check them out. Inspiration wasn’t far away – I spied a massive Tomahawk steak. I turned to my wife and said – wanna give this one a crack ? What followed was an immediate “Hell Yeah !!”

SOLD !! In the bag and away we went. Had to get a couple of complementary goodies while we were there. A great range of rubs and sauces..

 

 

This steak was HUGE –  1.4kg and looked awesome in the vacuum bag.

Prepped the Kamado Joe for an attempt at a reverse sear. The steak was exactly the right size and a prime candidate for the reverse sear method. New lump charcoal and about a handfull of hickory chips (not soaked) in , deflector low on the right side with the rack on the upper level (for the low and slow part of the cook) and the left grate on the lower level in preperation for the sear.

For the initial part of the cook I was looking to come up to somewhere around 275F (130/140C). Based on the size , I figured it was probably going to need between 60 and 90 minutes to reach the desired internal temp. I was aiming for an internal temp of around 120° F – 125° F (48.9° C to 51.6° C) [rare] after the slow part of the cook. That way with the sear ~3minutes each side we would get to our desired finish temp of 130° F – 135° F (54.4° C to 57.2° C) [med rare].

Set up:

IMG_7797 (2)

Once lit – inside to prep the steak. Pretty excited to try the Stubbs rubs.

 

I decided to use both rubs , for the main part of the steak I applied a liberal coating of the STUBBS Steak rub , and for the actual bone part (which was quite meaty) I added the STUBBS Bar-B-Q rub. I am really glad that I did as the taste diference was amazing.

Kamado up to temp and stable for about 15 minutes – time for the meat to meet the heat.. 275F (130/140C) for as long as needed to reach internal temps.

 

In this case it was around 1hr 30mins and perhaps could have been off a couple of minutes earlier. Slightly warmer than I was aiming for. I pulled it off and it was around 127F. Wrapped in foil for the 10 minutes or so it took the Kamado Joe to come up to temp (Searing hot approx 500F/250C) and put it on the lower grill for 3 minutes each side.

 

The sound and smell was simply amazing – I almost had a moment 🙂

Finished product

 

IMG_7894 (2)IMG_7916 (2)IMG_7904 (2)IMG_7896 (2)

 


Cook Summary :

Total cook duration : Almost spot on 2hrs

Low and Slow : 1hr 34m

Rest 10 min

Sear 3min each side

 

Thanks for looking in

 

Joe On !!

 

IMG_7926 (2)

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Kamado Tomahawk Steak

Leave a comment